The University of Macedonia was established in its current form in 1990 and is located in Thessaloniki, in Northern Greece. It is a State University under the responsibility of the Ministry of Education. It is a dynamic institution with four faculties consisting of eight undergraduate academic departments covering thirty graduate programs (Master Degrees) in disciplines with a high demand in the labour market. About 16.000 undergraduate and 2.000 graduate students attend courses in the University of Macedonia.


They key areas of interest are related to the fields of economics, administration, applied informatics and social and political sciences. The decision making bodies are the senate, the rector and the council.  The University of Macedonia employees 241 people as teaching and research staff of various academic levels and 187 technical and administrative employees. Also, the Research Committee employs a number o researcher and scientific staff during the implementation of research projects.


The University of Macedonia has implemented projects under most of the former Erasmus programmes (Tempus, Life Long Learning and Jean Monnet chairs), former framework (FP7) and Industrial Relations and Social Dialogue programmes as well as many European Territorial Cooperation Programmes. In the present it participates as a coordinator or a beneficiary in projects under the Erasmus+ programme, as well as the Horizon 2020 programme.

The University of Macedonia participates in the following international organizations: EUA (European University Association), IAU (International Association of Universities), CUM (Community of Mediterranean Universities), EUCEN (European Universities Continuing Education Network), THENUCE (European Thematic Network in University Continuing Education), ASECU (Association of Southeastern Economic Universities), EUPRIO (European Universities Public Relations & Information Officers), IAUP (International Association of Universities Presidents), AIMOS Network, BSUN (Black Sea Universities Network), and has bilateral relationships with many universities, including the Birmingham City University, Charles University, University of Novi Sad, Mazaryk University, National Chiayi University, Diplomatic Institute of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Bulgaria, New Bulgarian University, Georgia State University, Long Island University(LIU), Missouri State University, National University of Ireland, Kalmyk State University, University Tomsk State, University of Kimep, University of Kragujevac, University of Belgrade, University of Lodz, Universitatea "Lucian Blaga" din Sibiu, Taurida National V.I. Vernadsky University, Vilnius Business Law Academy, University of World Economy and Diplomacy, European University Cyprus, Cyprus Technological University, Charles Darwin University, Philological Faculty of Moscow State University named after MV Lomonosov, Sofia University St.Kliment Ohridski, University of Concordia, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania, Otto-Friedrich-Universitaet, Bamberg, Institute of Balkan Studies and Center of Thracology - Bulgarian Academy of Sciences.

The Research Committee of the University of Macedonia has 16 employees with administrative and financial tasks. The purpose of the Research Committee of the University of Macedonia is the supply and administration of funds from any source, intended to cover costs of any kind required for the purpose of research, educational, training, development and continuing education projects and projects for scientific, technological and artistic services, specialized studies, performance tests, measurements, laboratory tests and analysis, advice provision, drafting specifications for others, the formulation and execution of scientific, research, cultural and development programs as well as other related services with funds from the reserve of the Research Committee in order to benefit the University after the recommendation of the Research Committee’s Management Committee and the decision of the University Senate.

The Research Committee’s main financial resources are,

  • a) the budget allocated public investment or through specific development programs of education and research and technology, or in any other way,
  • b) special contributions and funds from public enterprises, other public agencies, private companies or individuals, international organizations and donations of all kinds of acts that cause life or death,
  • c) revenues from services to third parties, commercial exploitation of patents, know-how and products derived from funded projects and income assets.